Baniya elected FPCR Chair

CHITWAN, Apr 6: The General Assembly of the Forum for Protection of Consumer Rights concluded issuing a 25-point declaration here today.

The convention elected a 35-member new executive committee led by Jyoti Baniya for the next three years.

Krishna Prasad Bhandari, Baburam Humagain, Ram Chandra Poudel were elected the Vice-chairman, General Secretary and Deputy General Secretary respectively.

Bishnu Timalsina, Surya Bahadur Thapa, and Rajani Dhakal were elected Secretary, Treasurer and Joint-Treasurer of the committee respectively.

The conference has suggested including consumers’ right as a fundamental right in the new constitution.

The conference has concluded that the Nepali market has been witnessing an increasing level of highhandedness from the side of the traders, newly elected Secretary Timalsina said.