House committee forms sub-committee to make strategic plan

Kathmandu, Jan 25: The Environment Committee of the Legislature-Parliament today formed a six-member sub-committee to prepare the strategy and the action plan related to the environment.

Committee member Parbat Gurung is the coordinator of the sub-committee. The members are Ganesh Prasad Bimali, Parashu Ram Tamang, Chham Bahadur Gurung, Kamala Bishwakarma and Sita Gyawali. The sub-committee has been given one month time to carry out its task.

Earlier to this, speaking in the committee meeting today, its members underlined the need of forming an integrated view by holding discussions with all the committees of the Parliament regarding enhancing the dignity and effectiveness of the parliament committees in a parliamentary system.

They also stressed on the need of taking serious note of the impact of the earthquake on the environment in the earthquake-affected areas.