Country’s prosperity is next agenda: ANNFSU newly-elected chair Lama

Kathmandu, Feb 22: The newly elected All Nepal National Free Student Union (ANNFSU) Chairperson Nabina Lama has said the student union’s next agenda is to work for the nation-building and prosperity while continuing the students’ movement.

Lama was elected the chairperson of ANNFSU by getting 865 votes while her rival Deepak Gautam got 649 votes.
After the announcement of the result of ANNFSU 22nd National Conference on Sunday night, Lama said, “Now student movement’s agenda must be for the country’s overall prosperity and development, and the phase of burning tyres and vandalism has ended.”
Lama pledged to strengthen the organization’s internal unity during her tenure and prepare for ramping up the educational movement. “The victory was not possible at once for two, I have the won elections, but I will always seek suggestions from my contender, Deepak Gautam to run the organization,” she added.
As a woman leading the student union close to the CPN (UML), Lama will plan for increasing women’s participation in politics up to 50 per cent.
The newly elected ANNFSU head said the ANNFSU would launch a nationwide constitution implementation campaign.
Lama is the second woman figure to head the ANNFSU which was earlier headed by Ram Kumari Jhankri.
Likewise, Rashmi Acharya, Sunita Baral, Mahesh Bartaula and Shailesh Lama were elected the vice-chairman while Yen Mahar was elected the general secretary by getting 831 votes.
Similarly, RC Lamichhane, Samik Badal, Makar Khadka, Sudesh Parajuli, Arati Lama, Wasim Alam and Amrit Budha were elected the secretaries while Jhapindra Khatri in the post of treasurer.
The National Conference elected the 142-member central committee including 17 office bearers.