Seven smart city as per provincial structure

Banepa, May 11: Minister for Science and Technology, Shiva Lal Thapa, has said that seven smart cities would be built in line with the provincial structure as per the new constitution.

Talking to media persons at Dhulikhel today, Minister Thapa said that preparation was on to promote biotechnology in seven provinces through the budget.

Minister Thapa said, “We have wanted that it should be addressed in the government’s policies and programmes. Finance Minister has assured to address this issue through budget after policies and programmes did not incorporate it.”

Stating that agreement signed for the operation of IT Park would be reviewed, he said that discussion was held with the Kathmandu University regarding IT Park agreement.

Before this, speaking at a seminar organised by the Ministry with the coordination of Computer Association of Nepal (CAN) Kavre, Minister Thapa stressed the need of bringing a concrete plan for smart city.

Secretary at the Ministry, Gajendra Thakur, said that process has been forwarded to materialize the concept of smart city.

Parliamentarian Kanchan Chandra Bade, CAN, Kavre, Chairman Nabaraj Bhurtel, among others stressed the need of bringing the IT Park into operation.
Some 60 people from Nepal, China and India, among others have been participating in the seminar.