Three-point agreement inked among three major parties

Kathmandu, Aug 3: The three major political parties Nepali Congress (NC), CPN-Maoist Centre and the United Democratic Madheshi Front (also, Federal Alliance) have inked a 3-point agreement for forming a new government.

The agreement was reached before the election was held to the post of Prime Minister in the Legislature-Parliament.
The meeting of the top leaders of these three parties held at the Legislature-Parliament building at New Baneshower today made the decision to this effect to bring on board the disgruntled Madhesh-centric parties.

Following the agreement, the parliamentarians belonging to political parties affiliated with the Federal Alliance cast their votes in favor of CPN-MC Chairperson Pushpa Kamal Dahal for the post of Prime Minister.
According to CPN-MC Chair Dahal, the agreement was inked in course of proposing himself as a candidate for Prime Minister in the Legislature-Parliament.

The top leaders of NC, CPN-MC and Federal Alliance have signed in the recently inked agreement.
With the backing of the Alliance, Dahal has been elected the 39th Prime Minister of the country, garnering 363 votes from 573 parliamentarians taking part in the election to the post of the same held at parliament today itself.

The point one of the agreement states that the government should present the proposal to amend the constitution in Parliament to address those demands of the Federal Alliance that require amendment to the constitution.

Likewise, the point two calls for the formation of a high level probe commission under the chairmanship of former Justice of the Supreme Court to look into the incidents of killings, arson, vandalism and violence during the Madhes movement. Similarly it stresses on providing compensation to the kin of those killed during the movement, the government bearing all treatment costs of those injured, declaring those killed martyrs and withdrawing cases filed against the Alliance’s leaders and cadres.

The point three says that the Alliance should vote in favour of prime ministerial candidate Pushpa Kamal Dahal, also Chairman of the CPN (Maoist Centre), as per the agreement between the NC and Maoist Centre to form a new government.

The agreement has been signed by NC President Sher Bahadur Deuba, Dahal, Chairman of the Sanghiya Samajwadi Forum Nepal Upendra Yadav, Tarai Madhes Loktantrik Party Chairman Mahanta Thakur, Sadbhawana Party Chairman Rajendra Mahato and Tarai Madhes Sadbhawana Party Chairman Mahendra Prasad Yadav.

Likewise, Rastriya Madhes Samajwadi Party Chairman Sharat Singh Bhandari, Tharuhat Tarai Party Chairman Bhanu Ram Chaudhary, Nepal Sadbhawana Party Chairman Anil Kumar Jha, Madhesi Janadhakar Forum (Ganatantrik) Chairman Raj Kishor Yadav and Nepa: Rastriya Party General Secretary Dr Bijaya Saiju have also signed the agreement. RSS