FSU election starts in 24 TU constituent campuses across the country

FSU election

KATHMANDU, March 1: Free Students Union (FSU) elections conducted by the Tribhuvan University in its 24 constituent colleges across the country has begun this morning.

In Kathmandu valley the election is taking place in nine campuses. They are Public Administration Campus, Ayurved Campus and Nursing Campus under the Institute of Medicine, Pulchowk Campus and Thapathali Campus under the Institute of Engineering, Sanothimi Campus, Bhaktapur Campus andSahid Adarsha Campus in the Valley, according to TU election committee coordinator Ganga Thapa. The voting, which began at 9 am in the morning will continue until 4 pm.

Similarly, election is taking place in 15 TU constitute campuses outside the Kathmandu Valley. Election in other campuses has been put off due to students’ protests.

The TU is holding the FSU election first time after around eight years. All Nepal National Free Students Union (ANNFSU) secretary RC Lamichhane said the election could not take place on the scheduled date in many campuses due to students’ protests, calling on the agitating students for help to create atmosphere conducive for holding the election soon. RSS