Polls preparation over in Tarakeswor; candidates in voters’ doorsteps


KATHJMANDU, May 11: All necessary preparations have been over at Tarakeswor municipality – located in the north-west of the Kathmandu Valley – for first phase of local elections taking place on May 14 (Sunday).

Returning Officers have been posted in all 14 polling booths and 35 polling centres in 11 wards here. All-party meetings are also taking place for the distribution of voter ID cards in different places.

The Office of Municipal Election Officer here shared that they are making preparation to distribute 29,502 voter ID cards in the municipality from today.

Though the population of the municipality is 81,443, the number of voters is low with large score of locals are in abroad for employment.

With the Election Day coming near, total 298 candidates including from 10 participating political parties and four independent are busy canvassing the voters. There are 14 mayoral candidates in race.

Some 113 femlae candidates and 185 male candidates have registered their candidatures for different posts in the municipality.

Mayoral candidates in race from the three big parties – Nepali Congress, CPN-UMl and CPN (Maoist Centre) – in Tarakeswor are Shreeram Thapa, Rameswor Bohora and Dhan Lal Maharjan, respectively. RSS