First woman chairperson elected

NAWALPARASI, May 17: A woman candidate has been first-ever elected to the post of chairperson at rural municipality of Nepal in the May 14 local level election.

Nepali Congress candidate Laxmi Pandey emerged victorious as a chairperson of Hupsekot rural municipality in Nawalparasi with 4,593 votes.

She edged her nearest contender Megh Bahadur Pulami of CPN-UML who secured 4,358 votes.
Likewise, UML candidate Kopila Malla secured 4,468 votes to become vice-chairperson at Hupsekot. Her arch-rival Om Thapa of NC secured 4,413 votes.

Likewise, NC candidate Danbar GC secured 1,579 votes to get elected as chairperson of Binayi-Triveni rural municipality. Mina Rana of NC got elected to the post of vice-chairperson here with 1,494 votes.

Nepali Congress candidates Durga Bahadur Rana and Maya Devi Shrestha have secured victory as chairperson and vice-chairperson of Buddhikali rural municipality. RSS