NC finalizes its candidates in all 32 districts


KATHMANDU, Oct 21: The major ruling party, Nepali Congress, has finalized its candidates to contest in the House of Representatives and State Assemblies elections taking place in 32 districts on November 26.

NC central committee member Dr Prakash Sran Mahat told media persons on Saturday that that the party decided on the candidates in line with the electoral alliance it reached with the Federal Socialist Forum Nepal, the Naya Shakti Nepal, Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) and the RPP(Democratic).

The NC’s top leaders including senior leader Ram Chandra Poudel had held discussions at the Prime Minister’s residence at Baluwatar until Saturday evening to finalize the candidates from the party.

According to the source, Naya Shakti Nepal which has entered into an electoral alliance with the Congress has been offered two electoral constituencies while the RPP (Democratic) has been allocated only one constituency.

As per this, the Naya Shakti Nepal will field its candidates from Gorkha constituency-2 and Rasuwa and the NC will support these candidates. Similarly, the RPP (Democratic) will field its chairman Pashupati Shumser Rana from Sindhupalchok constituency-2 with the support of NC.

RPP and the Federal Socialist Forum Nepal will however field their candidacies for the State Assembly elections only. RSS