Oli and Sitaula’s election expenses Rs 2.4 million and Rs 2.2 million respectively

election expense

Santosh Sharma
JHAPA, Jan 2:
A total of 30 candidates, who ran from Jhapa in the December 7 elections to the House of Representatives and Province Assembly, have submitted details of their election expenditure, out of the total 141 (57 under the house of representatives and 84 under the provincial assemblies), said the district election office.

An election candidate is, according to the Election Commission rules, required to submit details of his or her election expenditure within 35 days of the date of poll results. Sixteen more days remain to approach the deadline.

Those who have submitted their poll expenditures (11 under the House of Representatives and 19 towards Provincial Assembly) include top leaders including CPN-UML Chairperson KP Sharma Oli, Nepali Congress leader Krishna Prasad Sitaula, and CPN (Maoist Center) leader Surendra Kumar Karki.

UML Chairman Oli’s election expenditure is put at Rs 2.41 million, while Sitaula spent Rs 2.26 million. Similarly, Karki’s poll expenditure stands at Rs 2.41 million. The NC’s leader Bishwo Prakash Sharma spent Rs 2.16 million.

The Election Commission had set the spending limit of Rs 2.5 million for a House of Representatives candidate and Rs 1.5 million for a Province Assembly candidate in the first-past-the-post category.