NA poll: Both candidates of left alliance win in Province No. 1


BIRATNAGAR, Feb 7: Both candidates of the left alliance have emerged victorious in the National Assembly election held in Province No. 1 on Wednesday.

As per the result of the vote count completed in the afternoon, Khemraj Nepali of CPN-UML won the poll under the Dalit seat by securing 6,270 votes, while his rival Binaya Kumar Bishwakarma of Nepali Congress got just 2,232 votes.

Similarly, Agam Prasad Bantawa of CPN-UML has won under the minority seat by securing 6,138 votes defeating his rival Mahesh Jaju of Nepali Congress who secured 2,898 votes, according to Assistant Election Officer of Province No. 1, Nawaraj Dulal.

Three candidates in women seat and three in open category were already elected in the National Assembly unopposed. Bina Pokhrel of Maoist Center, Naina Kala Ojha of UML and Sarita Prasai of Nepali Congress were already elected unopposed in women’s seat. Similarly, Haricharan Shivakoti of UML, Parsuram Megha Gurung of UML and Ramesh Jung Rayamajhi of Nepali congress were also elected unopposed in the open category in province 1.