NCP leads as results of the by-election trickle in

KATHMANDU: The by-elections results have been declared in several places. Ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) candidate Krishna Bahadur Tamang won the Kanchanpur Purnabas Village Development Council (VDC) Ward No 3 Chairman seat. Tamang received 528 votes whereas his nearest rival candidate Deep Bahadur Tamang from Nepali Congress (NC) got 310 votes, and Samajwadi Party (Socialist Party Nepal) candidate Bhim Tamang got 74 votes.

In Rolpa Thwang Village Development Council (VDC) Ward, no 1 the NCP candidate Janak Bahadur Budamagar has been elected as the Chairman. He secured 174 votes and his rival from NC Kamal Bahadur Rokamagar secured 26 votes.

Samajwadi Party candidate Shyam Babu Ray won the Chairman seat from Sarlahi Haripurwa VDC -1. He secured 347 votes. In Lamjung Sundarbazar VDC -2, NCP candidate Navin Kumar Shrestha won the Chairman seat.

For the House of Representatives (HoR), Provincial Assembly (PA), and the VDC elections a total of 52 positions are being filled. The Election Commission (EC) has stated that the voter turnout was at an average of 64.43% as against their calculation of 70%. The EC has accepted that the turnout was below expectations. For the 52 positions, a total of 4,54,114 voters were eligible to cast their ballot. Only 2,97,137 votes have been cast. The maximum turnout was in Humla and Rautahat with 84% turnout.

More updates on the released results of the by-polls to follow suit.