By-election Update – 2

KATHMANDU: 43 seats out of 52 of the by-elections held yesterday in various parts of the country have declared the representatives elected.

The voting took place in three levels, House of Representatives (HoR), Provincial Assembly (PA) and local bodies. The ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) has won 24 seats.

Main opposition Nepali Congress party (NC) has won 12 seats. The Samajwadi Party (Socialist Party Nepal) has won 4 seats and the Rashtriya Janata Party (National People’s Party) has won 3 seats.

NC has won the Bhaktapur seat.

NCP candidates have won in Sankhuwasabha Makalu Village Development Council (VDC) and Humla Kharpunath VDC, as declared by the Election Commission (EC).

Kaski -2 HoR seat has been won by Bidhya Bhattarai from the NCP defeating contender Khemraj Poudel from NC by a margin of 8 thousand votes.

The vote count continues in several places and results are awaited.