Thakur Gyawali named new chief of Police

New IPG Gyawali

KATHMANDU, Feb 11: The government has named Thakur Gyawali as the new Inspector General of Police on Tuesday.

A meeting of the Council of Ministers held today afternoon appointed Gyawali as the 28th IPG.

Gyawali will replace outgoing Sarbendra Khanal, who is retiring 21 months after taking charge of the Nepal Police.

Along with Khanal, three AIGs and 19 DIGs are also departing the police under compulsory retirement provision after completing their 30-years service.

Gyawali, who joined the police force on July 9, 1990, will remain in office for five months.