Nepal temporarily suspends on-arrival visas for citizens of five virus-hit countries


KATHMANDU, March 2: The Government of Nepal Monday decided to temporarily suspend on-arrival visas for the citizens of China, Iran, Italy, South Korea and Japan which have been worst hit by novel coronavirus.

The decision will come into effect from March 7 to March 31, according to the Ministry of Home Affairs.

On Sunday, a meeting of the Council of Ministers had instructed the government agencies including the Home Ministry to take precautionary measures against the new virus.

The new global virus COVID-19 has infected more than 89,000 people globally and caused over 3,000 deaths, with 2,912 deaths among 80,026 cases in China, mostly in Hubei.

China reported only 202 new cases over the previous 24 hours with another 42 deaths, which is the lowest since Jan 21, but the virus is surging in South Korea, Italy and Iran.

South Korea reported 476 new cases on Monday taking the total cases to 4,212, most of them in Daegu and surrounding areas. The virus has killed 22 in the country.

Likewise, Italy has reported 1,694 cases and 34 deaths while in Iran 978 cases have been confirmed with 54 deaths.

Japan has reported 961 cases, including 705 from the Diamond Princess cruise ship and 12 deaths.