Newly elected 18 National Assembly members sworn in (Photo Feature)

National Assembly

KATHMANDU, March 4: The newly elected 18 lawmaker of the National Assembly (NA) have been sworn in.

NA chair Ganesh Prasad Timilsina administered the oath of office and secrecy to the upper house members amid a special function organized at the Federal Parliament building in Kathmandu.

They were elected to the NA during the Jan 23 elections, and will replace the 19 members whose two-year term expired on Tuesday.

One member will be appointed by the President Bidya Devi Bhandari upon the recommendation of the government.

The ruling Nepal Communist Party Secretariat has nominated party Vice-chair Bam Dev Gautam as the NA member, but Prime Minister K P Sharma Oli has refused to recommend him to the president.

The newly elected upper house members who were sworn in today are as follows:

Province Category Elected members Party
1 Women Indira Devi Gautam NCP
Dalit Gopi Bahadur Sarki Achhami NCP
Other Devendra Dahal NCP
2 Women Tulasa Kumari Dahal NCP
Dalit Radheshyam Paswan NCP
People with disability/minority groups Shekhar Kumar Singh RJPN
Other Mrigendra Kumar Singh Yadav RJPN
Bagmati Women Ganga Kumari Belbase NCP
Other Bedu Ram Bhusal NCP
Gandaki Women Bhagabati Neupane NCP
Other Narayan Kaji Shrestha NCP
5 Women Bimala Ghimire NCP
People with disability/minority groups Jaga Prasad Sharma NCP


Other Gopal Bhattarai NCP
Karnali Women Sumitra BC NCP
Other Maya Prasad Sharma NCP
Sudurpaschim Women Sharada Devi Bhatta NCP
Other Tara Man Swar NCP

Photos: Mukunda Kalikote/Reporters’ Club Nepal