Nomination for NC national convention over

Kathmandu, March 4: The nomination of candidates for various positions in the executive committee of the Nepali Congress (NC) is over as the deadline for the same came to an end.

Candidates, eyeing for various position from the highest position in the party-President -to central committee members, have registered their nominations as of 12 noon today at the NC central office Sanepa in the capital city as the NC 13th national convention has reached second day.
Three nominations have been filed for the post of the President. Leaders–Ramchandra Poudel, Sher Bahadur Deuba and Krishna Prasad Sitaula have filed their nomination for the same while Shashank Koirala, Gagan Thapa have registered for the post of general secretary, according to Central Election Committee Coordinator Radheshyam Adhikari.
Similarly, three candidates from three different panels – Chitralekha Yadav, Sitadevi Yadav and Umakanta Chaudhary -have registered their names for Treasurer position while Krishna Bahadur Karki has filed his candidacy independently, added Coordinator Adhikari.
A total of 94 candidates have filed their nominations for 25 members under open category while 40 female have registered their nominations for 6 seats under the open category.
Similarly, 102 candidates have applied for 14 provincial seats. A total of 50 candidates have applied for three seats under the indigenous and nationalities male seat while14 women for the two seats under the indigenous and nationalities female seat.
Likewise, a total of 21 candidates have registered their candidacies for three seats under the Dalit category while six candidates for two seats for female under it.
In addition, the Committee has seen nominations of 10 Muslim candidates for a single seat allocated for Muslim. 18 Madheshi male candidates have field their nominations for three seats and 10 Madheshi female for the two seats under the Madhesi female category.
The publication of the nominations, claim and objection among others are undergoing, shared Coordinator Adhikari.