Five major parties’ meeting concludes; decides to hold May 14 local level election in a single phase

Posted 2017/04/19

Fiver major parties' meeting

KATHMANDU, April 19: The meeting of five major political parties, summoned by Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ Wednesday morning, in order to discuss on election and other contemporary issues has concluded.

The meeting has decided to hold the upcoming local level election in the stipulated date, May 14 and in a single phase.

The meeting, however, has also concluded that election in some districts could be held in second phase, if the agitating Madhes-based parties come to an understanding.

The meeting has also decided that they would keep on trying to forge consensus with the agitating Madhes-based parties and Federal Alliance until the last minute, and opposition party would positively support the effort.

Subash Nembang, Nembang, the deputy parliamentary party leader of CPN-UML, after the meeting, said that the meeting had decided to hold local poll in the stipulated date in a single phase.

Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba, after the meeting, stating that the local level election would be held on May 14 at any cost, said that election could be conducted in two phases if the Madhes-based parties assure their participation in the election.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Home Affairs Bimalendra Nidhi said discussion about bringing Madhes-based parties abroad the upcoming election took place. He also said that all four security agencies were fully prepared to ensure free, fair and fearless election. “Election will be held on May 14 at any cost,” he added.

CPN (Maoist Center) leader and Minister for Energy Janardan Sharma said that time could be provided to Madhes-based parties for preparation if they assures their participation in the election. “Otherwise, election will be held in May 14 at any cost,” he added.

The meeting was also attended by Maoist Center leader Barshaman Pun, NC leader Prakash Man Singh, UML Acting Chairman Bamdev Gautam, leader Madhav Kumar Nepal, Minister for Supplies Dipak Bohara from Rastriya Prajatantra Party and MJF-D Chairman Bijaya Kumar Gachchhadar and leader Ram Janam Chaudhary.

United Democratic Madhesi Front and Federal Alliance, reiterating that they would not participate in the polls, has published their scheduled protests.